4 comments on “SE7EN title sequence thriller (Katie)

  1. Katie,
    The “Se7en” title sequence is very creepy. I am also a horror-movie buff but I have no seen this one (although we can rent it from the HWS library, which I am going to do ASAP). I think this particular title sequence is super scary. The sharp scissors cutting film, the chicken-scratch writing, the hundreds of written words with a drop of blood… it all creates a confusing, distorted introduction to the movie. I could not quite tell what was going on either. It is mysterious and makes me want to watch more.
    -Grace

  2. I agree with both Grace and Katie about how creepy and unsettling the title sequence for Se7en is. I personally absolutely despise horror movies, and I admittedly get scared very easily. In watching this title sequence I definitely would not want to see the movie, and actually that scratchy noise in the background almost stuck in my head and I can still hear it if I think about it. I also love the abstractness of Se7en’s title sequence it makes it really interesting actually does kind of make me want to watch more like it did with Grace even though I don’t watch horror movies.
    – Haley

  3. I think “se7en” is one of the better tile sequences I have seen because of how well it portrays the movie to follow. It is one of the creepiest things I have ever scene and can understand why Haley would be distrubed by it! However I feel as though the sounds, and images of razor blades and blood give this title scene an interesting and almost guilty pleasure feeling when watching it.
    -Max

  4. Haley,
    I think it is very interesting that you mentioned that “in watching this title sequence [you] definitely would not want to see the movie”, because it really shows how much a title sequence can impact the audience! It IS very scary and creepy! It stayed inside of my head as well. I think that from what I have seen so far, the best title sequences are the ones that an audience can remember for days later.
    -Grace

Leave a comment